Mark Steyn’s opposition to honor killings

There’s this discussion going on between Mark Steyn at the NRO (who I will never, ever link to, ever) and Conor Friedersdorf.  Mark Steyn thinks he’s the champion of “brown women,” as he calls them, and that the librul media won’t cover honor killings because of multiculturalism.  I will leave aside refuting this point, because Friedersdorf does it admirably already.

But allow me simply to state that there have been honor killings going on in America for years.  It’s called domestic violence, and it happens to women every day: sometimes, though not always, because a man feels his privilege, his station, his honor, has been breached.  And for a great many years in this country — including today — these men get away with it.

Allow me to also state that there is a great deal of violence against people of color.  The violence against African-American and other dark-skinned populations is well-established, but there has also been a rash of violence against the muslim community in Jacksonville, Florida.

Since I have rarely, if ever, see a conservative dedicate excessive energy towards ending violence against “brown” people or women specifically, excuse me if Steyn’s protestations to be deeply, passionately committed to exposing honor killings against “brown women” to be disingenuous.

Honor killings are disgusting.  The men who perform them should be brought to justice.

But Steyn’s interest is not in supporting the end of violence against women: his interest is in encouraging and promoting vicious racism against a great many Muslims, especially those that are trying to immigrate peacefully and without violence into our country.  When Steyn cares about violence against more oppressed populations than one that can be conveniently exploited in service of attacking another oppressed population, I’ll be more inclined to believe his fulminations.

EDIT: Title changed to reflect a well-considered criticism, namely that “Mark Steyn’s beliefs” and “conservative” are not synonymous categories.

20 comments on “Mark Steyn’s opposition to honor killings

  1. […] out the post that started it all over at […]

  2. Kralizec says:

    “Moderating” every comment before hand is counterproductive to a blogger’s aim of gaining and keeping readers. One can’t discuss the merits and demerits of blog posts when the blogger introduces such a delay in the publication of comments.

    But descending from generalities to particulars, what are you so worried about? You criticize another writer’s opinions in whatever terms you wish, and without asking by-your-leave of that writer. Are your sensibilities really so much more delicate as to require your prior review of others’ critiques of what you say? I imagine your defensiveness is more injurious to your readers’ esteem for you than anything commenters may say.

    • tolkienista says:

      Kralizec, you are under the false impression that this blogger’s aim is to gain and keep readers. Posting about once a week to once a month is also counterproductive to gaining and keeping readers. But I do not have the time nor the inclination to run a full-service blogfest for the interest and amusement of Mr. Steyn’s troll-brigade.

      In any event, my criticism of another writer’s opinions in whatever terms I wished, without asking a by-your-leave of that writer, in no way renders me immune from criticism: any number of individuals may choose to also post their own criticisms of my opinions in whatever terms they wish, and without asking a by-your-leave of me: on their own blogs, in their own forums. They are free to link to me, inundating me with even more comments; I’ll get the pingbacks. But there is no entitlement to a forum here.

      That said, however, I can see obvious merits to opening up comments completely. Before this event, I had no readership to speak of save friends and colleagues, and I was approving comments on the model of approving them routinely and granting the initial poster the right to post without restriction from that point on. I did not expect to handle a large volume of hostile commentary prior to developing both the intentions, directions, and selected subject matter of the blog; to be entirely honest, I have been uncertain for some time whether I wished to use it as a blog about hymnwriting or a blog about politics, or a blog about the interesting questions raised by certain translations of Hebrew verb forms. This, in part, is the reason for what you term “defensiveness:” namely, not expecting the sudden influx of a gang of thugs intent on telling me that I don’t have any concern for Muslim women and/or I need to watch some movie that shows a woman being stoned, because that’ll show me, and I won’t be a liberal anymore, despite the obvious counterexample of Roger Ebert. As such, I did not anticipate the method by which I have always approved comments to become an issue that required my extended attention.

      As such, I am going to go ahead and approve all comments to this article. People may do with them what they wish; I am unlocking comments for this article alone, for now, and seeing what happens.

      EDIT: It seems it was impossible to just test-run unlocking the article alone; everything is now unlocked. Auto-locks on older features, though, we’ll see how long that lasts.

  3. Kralizec says:

    You spoke of “Steyn’s protestations to be deeply, passionately committed to exposing honor killings.” The word you needed is “profession,” not “protestations.” However, I’m not aware that Mark Steyn has ever professed or “protested” himself deeply, passionately committed to anything. It is interesting to me that you do not seem to have been aware, as you wrote, that you had struck such a false note.

    • Actually, Kralizec, “protestation” is a legitimate word here.

      Also, after your first sentence, I must confess to being completely at a loss to understand what you’re talking about.

Leave a Reply

